Add a story, deadline to InHouse or an event to the Calendar.

In the news

Read the latest stories featuring UNT people and programs.

Share photos

Share your campus and event photos and view the gallery.


Quick links

Common UNT web resources for faculty and staff.

Contact us

Who to Contact. Learn How to... Write for InHouse, Share Photos, and more.

Students earn prizes at Northwestern Mutual case competition

Three teams of UNT students earned cash prizes totaling $7,400 in the Spring 2014 Northwestern Mutual Integrated Business Case Competition. The competition has been held twice every year at UNT since 1995 as part of the capstone course for graduating seniors in the College of Business

Students in the competition get hands-on experience solving complex problems for a real-world client. This year, the teams helped TeamConnor Childhood Cancer Foundation develop a plan for the future of the foundation.

Seven teams of finalists presented their solutions to competition judges Jennifer Bolton, executive director of Team Connor Childhood Cancer Foundation; Finley Graves, dean of the UNT College of Business; Scott Jamison, vice president of Ze-Net Technologies Inc.; and Julian Johnson, sales executive at Northwestern Mutual.

Past clients for the case competition have included Target Corporation, ReStore operations of the Dallas Area Habitat for Humanity, the Texas town of Cross Roads, Service King Collision Repair, Denton Community Hospital, Enterprise Rent-a-Car, Sonic and more.

Northwestern Mutual and UNT alumnus Tait Cruse, managing partner, Northwestern Mutual—Dallas, have pledged $100,000 over four years to organize the event and to fund students’ awards.

The following students earned first place and won $700 First placeper team member: Back row:Stephanie Connelly of Lake Jackson,Michael Chapman of Denison (formerly of Plano),Brandon Simonton of Mineral Wells,Caleb Mobley of Denton (formerly of Bedford), (Front Row) Caitlin Kite of Flower Mound, Trent Hunt of Fort Worth, Holley Brazzel of Spring and Kristin Tonthat of The Woodlands.


The following students earned second place and won $150 per team member:

Second place(Back row) Thomas Swift of Trophy Club,Oscar Nieto of North Richland Hills,Jeff Johnson of Fort Worth, Christian Cunningham of Belington, W. Va., (front row) Danielle Peruchi of Sunnyvale (formerly of Euless), Sandra Rivera of Frisco, Stephanie Farris of Oak Point and Michael Nguyen of Lewisville (formerly of Abilene.)


The following students earned third place and won $100 per team member:

logistics third place(Back row): Adeola Adeosoye of Mansfield, Sara Fogassy of Azle, Darrin Taylor of Duncanville, Wariner Stahl of Gainesville, (front row) Melissa Maples of Natchez, Miss. and Janelle Rodriguez of McAllen.

Ellen Rossetti, News Promotions

Posted on: Wed 11 June 2014

Owning Excellence

Faculty and staff members have roles in transforming UNT into a nationally prominent university. Share your ideas on how you can help UNT to own excellence, keep students on track and improve graduation education.

Mean Green Pride


No current Deadlines

UNT Calendar