Add a story, deadline to InHouse or an event to the Calendar.

In the news

Read the latest stories featuring UNT people and programs.

Share photos

Share your campus and event photos and view the gallery.


Quick links

Common UNT web resources for faculty and staff.

Contact us

Who to Contact. Learn How to... Write for InHouse, Share Photos, and more.

Staff honored at sack lunch

staff sack lunchPresident Neal Smatresk and Provost Warren Burggren honored two outstanding employees, two departments, 23 Star Performers and 18 Soaring Eagles during the recent Staff Sack Lunch Feb. 25.

During the lunch, organized by Human Resources, Smatresk shared his vision for UNT and fielded several questions from attendees.

Burggren presented the Steve Miller Outstanding Employee awards to Kimberly Mathis, of the College of Public Affairs and Community Service, and to Joanie Smith, of the International Studies office.

He also honored the Mayborn School of Journalism staff and the University Information Technology helpdesk staffs with Outstanding Department awards.

Other honorees included:

Star Performers:

  • Deborah Bockman - Department of Disability and Addiction Rehabilitation
  • Brandy Ellis - College of Business
  • Julie Espinoza - Marketing and Logistics
  • Brandi Everett - College of Business
  • Alyssa Ferrer - College of Education –Development and External Relations
  • Jose Grimaldo - Marketing and  Logistics
  • Jane Himmel - Center for Learning Enhancement, Assessment and Redesign
  • Dorothy Horton - UNT International
  • Virginia Jones - College of Business – Management
  • Eric Koch - Center for Learning Enhancement, Assessment and Redesign
  • Inez Loche - College of Business
  • Sheila McWilliams - College of Business – Management
  • Amanda Moske - Institutional Research and Effectiveness
  • Linda Overlander - College of Education – Kristin Farmer Autism Center
  • Debra Phillips - College of Merchandising, Hospitality and Tourism
  • Reeca Pulliam - Kinesiology, Health Promotion, and Recreation
  • Kathy Roberts - Center for Leaning Enhancement, Assessment, and Redesign
  • Courtney Rogers - UNT – International
  • Amy Rowell - College of Education
  • Debbi Stack - College of Business
  • Gail Shadle - Biology
  • Nancy Van Hoy - College of Engineering
  • Margarita Venegas - University Relations, Communications and Marketing

Soaring Eagles Group:

  • Physics Machine Shop

Soaring Eagles Individuals:

  • Leah Atinda - Computing and Information Technology Center
  • Claudia Cooper - University Relations, Communications and Marketing
  • Ron Davis - Facilities
  • Jacob Flores - Computing and Information Technology Center
  • Cathy Flowers - Union Administration
  • John Fryar - Facilities
  • Troy Gattis - Facilities
  • Sherry Gleaton - Student Accounting and University Cashier
  • Mike Hall - Facilities
  • Karen Hanselman - Union Administration
  • Brian Henry - Union Administration
  • Jett Jeter - Facilities
  • Caroline Pendleton - Registrar
  • Paulo Rico - Facilities
  • Russell Ruffu - Institutional Research
  • Ernesto Tellez - Facilities
  • Margaret Vestal - Provost Vice President Academic Affairs

—Matthew Zabel, University Relations, Communications and Marketing

 Above, Kimberly Mathis, the director of the Coalition for Aging Services for the College of Public Affairs and Community Service, received a Steve Miller Outstanding Employee Award at the President's Staff Sack Lunch Feb. 25. Below, Joanie Smith, administrative coordinator for the International Studies program in the College of Arts and Sciences, received a Steve Miller Outstanding Employee Award. (Photos by Gary Payne / URCM)

staff sack lunch Smith

Posted on: Thu 13 March 2014

Owning Excellence

Faculty and staff members have roles in transforming UNT into a nationally prominent university. Share your ideas on how you can help UNT to own excellence, keep students on track and improve graduation education.

Mean Green Pride


No current Deadlines