Add a story, deadline to InHouse or an event to the Calendar.

In the news

Read the latest stories featuring UNT people and programs.

Share photos

Share your campus and event photos and view the gallery.


Quick links

Common UNT web resources for faculty and staff.

Contact us

Who to Contact. Learn How to... Write for InHouse, Share Photos, and more.

Presidential search committee selected by chancellor

Lee Jackson, chancellor, UNT SystemUniversity of North Texas System Chancellor Lee Jackson sent this update to campus May 5, 2010.

Dear UNT faculty and staff members and students:

As UNT sets its course for future advancement, the selection of UNT’s next president is an important opportunity. The University of North Texas System Board of Regents is now launching the formal process which will culminate in the selection of UNT’s next president, and I have an update for you on our progress thus far.

A 23-member Presidential Search Advisory Committee has been selected to ensure a broadly representative group of university and community stakeholders, including undergraduate and graduate students, faculty and staff members, administrators, alumni and Denton and other community leaders. Members were nominated by the UNT Faculty Senate, Staff Council, Student Government Association and Graduate Student Council, as well as the UNT Alumni Association, UNT Foundation and Denton Chamber of Commerce.

Bobby Ray, UNT System Board of RegentsThe search advisory committee will be led by UNT alumnus and former UNT System Board of Regents chairman Bobby Ray ('69), right. The committee began meeting in May to organize their work plans and schedule, and members will engage interested persons and groups to help identify the ideal profile of the next president of our university.

UNT System Board of Regents Members
Jack Wall (’64), former member of the UNT Foundation board, rancher and investor, and former partner and senior vice president of J.C. Bradford/UBS Paine Webber of Dallas
Steve Mitchell (’85, '85 M.S.), City of Richardson city councilmember and lead business systems analyst for Thompson Reuters

UNT Faculty Members
Beverly Bower, Don Buchholz endowed chair and professor of counseling and higher education (College of Education)
Richard Fossey, professor of teacher education and administration (College of Education)
Timothy Jackson, professor of music (College of Music)
Michael McPherson, associate professor of economics (College of Arts & Sciences) and former Faculty Senate chairman
Keith Owens, associate professor of design (College of Visual Arts and Design)
Victor Prybutok, Regents professor of information technology and decision sciences (College of Business)

Academic Deans
Michael Monticino, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences
Costas Tsatsoulis, dean of the College of Engineering

Mercedes Fulbright, Student Government Association vice president
Mariya Gavrilova, Graduate Student Council member

Staff Members and Administrators
Lisa Baronio, UNT vice president of advancement
Jim Coffey ('93), UNT Police Department captain and former Staff Council chairman
Rosemary Haggett, UNT System vice chancellor for academic affairs

UNT Foundation Representative
Ken Newman (’66) of Denton, UNT Foundation Board chairman and retired chairman and CEO of Horizon Health Corp.

UNT Alumni Association Representative
Ben Joyner (’74, ’76 MBA) of Denton, senior vice president of Meridian Bank Texas

Denton Community and Other Civic Leaders
Mark Burroughs of Denton, City of Denton mayor
Stan Morton of Denton, president of Presbyterian Hospital and past Denton Chamber of Commerce chairman
Randy Robinson (’06) of Denton, president of Access 1st Capital Bank and past Denton Chamber of Commerce chairman
Rhys Best (’69) of Dallas, managing director of SEREN Management LLC
Victor Rodriguez (’55, ’62 M.S.) of San Antonio, retired superintendent for San Antonio Independent School District

The UNT System will retain a major search firm with a successful record in higher education executive searches to provide external expertise. The committee and search firm will work together to identify candidates and encourage them to apply, review their credentials, and interview and recommend highly qualified candidates to me and the Board of Regents. We hope this process can be concluded in time for the Board’s regular meeting in February 2011. The successful candidate must be recommended by the Chancellor and approved by the Board of Regents, and I am confident we will appoint and have in place a highly capable new president before the beginning of the 2011-12 academic year.

The Board of Regents and I are confident that this search will attract a strong pool of candidates who are familiar with our flagship university’s growing reputation and want to be part of UNT’s future. With Dr. V. Lane Rawlins leading the university during the 2010-2011 academic year, I am certain UNT will continue to make progress toward its strategic goals. Dr. Rawlins assumed the university presidency on May 14.

I appreciate the dedication and service provided by UNT Interim President Phil C. Diebel to our flagship university, and I thank all of you for your continued commitment to build on UNT’s successes every day.

Best regards,

Lee Jackson

Chancellor, UNT System

Posted on: Wed 05 May 2010

Owning Excellence

Faculty and staff members have roles in transforming UNT into a nationally prominent university. Share your ideas on how you can help UNT to own excellence, keep students on track and improve graduation education.

Mean Green Pride


No current Deadlines