Add a story, deadline to InHouse or an event to the Calendar.

In the news

Read the latest stories featuring UNT people and programs.

Share photos

Share your campus and event photos and view the gallery.


Quick links

Common UNT web resources for faculty and staff.

Contact us

Who to Contact. Learn How to... Write for InHouse, Share Photos, and more.

Mean Green Phone-a-thon team earns celebratory lunch

Phon-a-thon lunch

About 50 students representing nine colleges and schools raised $318,862.50 at the Mean Green Phone-a-thon in the Gateway Center during the past academic year.

President V. Lane Rawlins promised at the June 1 President’s Council event to treat the student phone-a-thon team to a thank-you lunch if $300,000 was raised by the end of the summer.

They did it.

Above, from left, Megan Tripp, Kelly Rowley, President RawlinsLorin Skinner and George Wendt, assistant vice president for Advancement Services.

The money donated through the phone-a-thon is used to support scholarships, guest speakers and other academic needs. Each donor who makes a gift to the university is encouraged to designate their pledge to a place that is most meaningful to them.

The Mean Green Phone-a-thon has been an annual fundraising team for more than 20 years. Student callers are

trained in a three-day program including easy, medium and hard mock calls that prepare the callers for live phone calls. The students also attend weekly recurrent training sessions throughout the semester to perfect their skills.

The 2010 phone-a-thon included student callers representing:

  • College of Arts and Sciences
  • College of Business
  • College of Public Affairs and Community Service
  • College of Education
  • School of Merchandising and Hospitality Management
  • College of Music
  • College of Visual Arts and Design
  • Toulouse School of Graduate Studies
  • Mayborn School of Journalism

Learn more about the Mean Green Phone-a-thon or other gifting opportunities: e-mail Jackie Quintero or call 940-891-6904.

Below, front row, left to right, Jackie Quintero, Alyssa Mangold, Angela Moreno, Stefanie Guerrero, Raven Dickerson, Lorin Skinner, Michal Broussard, Tuski Smith, Javier Lopez, Stevie Evans and Kaylee Reardon. Back row, from left, Megan Phelan, Meredith Blair, Shirley Nunez, Franky Gonzalez, Collin Bragdon, Emily Noble, TJ Davis, Nicole Sprowl , Megan Yenter, Megan Tripp, Elizabeth Hagar and Kelly Rowley.

Phon-a-thon team



Posted on: Mon 13 September 2010

Owning Excellence

Faculty and staff members have roles in transforming UNT into a nationally prominent university. Share your ideas on how you can help UNT to own excellence, keep students on track and improve graduation education.

Mean Green Pride


No current Deadlines