Add a story, deadline to InHouse or an event to the Calendar.

In the news

Read the latest stories featuring UNT people and programs.

Share photos

Share your campus and event photos and view the gallery.


Quick links

Common UNT web resources for faculty and staff.

Contact us

Who to Contact. Learn How to... Write for InHouse, Share Photos, and more.

Faculty members help teachers create engaging science lessons

Miguel AcevedoEleven North Texas middle and high school teachers will go from instructors to researchers this summer during a six-week National Science Foundation program.

The Research Experiences for Teachers in Sensor Networks program gives teachers the opportunity to conduct engineering-based research projects while also learning how to translate their experiences into innovative classroom lessons.

The program is funded by a $499,932 grant from the National Science Foundation that started in 2011 and will run through 2013.

“This program is crucial to promote STEM disciplines among high school students in the North Texas area. We critically need our youth to consider engineering among their first choices for college.

Engaging their teachers in university research goes a long way in accomplishing this goal,” said Miguel Acevedo, Regents professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and coordinator of Research Experience for Teachers program.

This is the second year that UNT has offered the Research Experience for Teachers program. UNT also ran a pilot program in 2009.

This year’s participants will use electrical engineering concepts and tools to investigate air and water quality, the impact of emissions on the area’s carbon footprint and the ability to equip robots with depth-capable vision. 

The teachers will be mentored by Shengli Fu, Xinrong Li and Kamesh Namaduri from the Department of Electrical Engineering, as well as Rudi Thompson and David Hoeinghaus from the Department of Biology and Yan Huang from the Department of Computer Science and Engineering. The teachers also will work closely with electrical engineering, computer science, and biology graduate students.

Participants come from six different school districts and teach subjects from chemistry and algebra to aerospace engineering and aquatic science:

  • Zachary Bunn, R.L. Turner High School, Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD
  • José Guerrero, R.L. Turner High School, Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD
  • Lori Wolf, Navo Middle School, Denton ISD
  • Jesse C. Bell, Skyline High School, Dallas ISD
  • Kimberly Garrett, Northwest High School, Northwest ISD
  • Elizabeth Georgette Jordan, Emmett J. Conrad High School, Dallas ISD
  • Blaine Chamberlain, Newman Smith High School,  Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD
  • Ashley Sink, Northwest High School, Northwest ISD
  • Karl Gscheidle, R.L. Turner High School, Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD
  • Sharon Wood, Marcus High School, Lewisville ISD
  • Donn Arnold, Krum High School, Krum ISD


-       Alyssa Yancey, News Promotions

Posted on: Thu 07 June 2012

Owning Excellence

Faculty and staff members have roles in transforming UNT into a nationally prominent university. Share your ideas on how you can help UNT to own excellence, keep students on track and improve graduation education.

Mean Green Pride


No current Deadlines