Add a story, deadline to InHouse or an event to the Calendar.

In the news

Read the latest stories featuring UNT people and programs.

Share photos

Share your campus and event photos and view the gallery.


Quick links

Common UNT web resources for faculty and staff.

Contact us

Who to Contact. Learn How to... Write for InHouse, Share Photos, and more.

Catering, math departments honored at Staff Sack Lunch

mathematics department

catering departmentUniversity leaders honored the campus catering service and the mathematics department with Outstanding Department awards at the May 7 Staff Sack Lunch.

“They [the Verde Catering service employees, right] do a great job because they are so customer-service oriented,” said Elizabeth With, vice president for student affairs. As she presented the award, With quoted a letter from a customer who wrote the staff members “continually exceed my expectations when it comes to customer service and never blink an eye when I have a last minute request.”

Interim Provost Finley Graves recognized the mathematics department, above, for its work to reduce class sizes and provide more supplemental instruction to help students succeed.

In 2011, math classes were as large as 317 students, and offered little tutoring outside those classes.

While the department has grown steadily, the staff has reduced the class sizes to about 80 to 120 students and added some recitation sections to many classes so students can get more personal help.

“Because mathematics is a subject that takes a lot of trial and error during the learning process, the personal interactions between the student and an instructor, a teaching assistant or a tutor are vitally important,” Graves said.

President Neal Smatresk also recognized Star Performers and Soaring Eagle award winners.

Star Performer award winners

  • Raymond Brown, facilities
  • James “Jamey” Finch, risk management
  • Jose Hernandez, facilities
  • Kay Johnson, risk management
  • Debra “Debbie” Jones, facilities
  • Randal Martin, facilities
  • Johnny McDaniel Jr., facilities
  • Rebekah Moreno, risk management
  • Kasey Price, facilities
  • Byrle Roberts, facilities
  • Benito Salazar, facilities
  • Justin Stewart, risk management
  • James Vickery Jr., facilities

Soaring Eagle awards

  • Becky Andrews, accounting
  • Chad Bourgeois, facilities
  • Mary Brockett, academic resources
  • Charles Deussen, printing services
  • Angel Durr, advancement
  • Alexander Finley, psychology
  • Kirk Lowe, facilities
  • Robert McCuistion, facilities
  • Jami McQueen, marketing
  • Mark Mills, facilities
  • Rodney Mitchell, dean of students
  • Kathy Nichols, accounting
  • Will Pingry, UNT fire systems
  • Ben Sheffield, facilities
  • Erin Welch, management

Soaring Eagle group award

  • UNT Libraries’ User Interfaces Unit — Jason Ellis, William Hicks, Dianne Jansing and Jason Thomale

--Matthew Zabel, University Relations, Communications and Marketing

Posted on: Wed 03 June 2015

Owning Excellence

Faculty and staff members have roles in transforming UNT into a nationally prominent university. Share your ideas on how you can help UNT to own excellence, keep students on track and improve graduation education.

Mean Green Pride


No current Deadlines