Add a story, deadline to InHouse or an event to the Calendar.

In the news

Read the latest stories featuring UNT people and programs.

Share photos

Share your campus and event photos and view the gallery.


Quick links

Common UNT web resources for faculty and staff.

Contact us

Who to Contact. Learn How to... Write for InHouse, Share Photos, and more.

ArtWear 2015 highlights seniors' fashion designs

Carrasquillo fashion designThe chic and fabulous designs coming down the catwalk at the Gateway Center Ballroom on May 9 give the Dallas-Fort Worth community a chance to see the professional level work done by graduating seniors in the College of Visual Arts and Design’s fashion design program.

ArtWear, the annual juried exhibition sponsored by Neiman Marcus, includes the works of 30 students this year. The show begins at 6 p.m. Students compete to make their debut into the fashion industry by having their best creations worn by models on the ArtWear runway.

“This is a very exciting year for ArtWear. We have a very talented group of seniors who each have their own interesting and unique aesthetic,” said Janie Stidham, associate professor of fashion design. “The complexity of some of the designs is mind-blowing and exemplary of the excellence in talent and skill level coming out of the UNT Fashion Design program.”

ArtWear has been going on for more than 30 years and has debuted many successful young designers who have gone on to work for companies such as Calvin Klein, Liz Claiborne, Nicole Miller, Betsy Johnson, Ralph Lauren, Monique Lhuillier, Neiman Marcus and other major designers and stores. Notable alumni of the program include fashion designers Michael Faircloth, Nicolas Villalba, Finley Moll, Shirin Askari, Khanh Nguyen and Lucy Dang. 

The students who will show their designs this year are:

  • Ivette Alvarez
  • Sofia Arevalo
  • Holly Banks
  • Jacqueline Baptiste
  • Megan Brigham
  • Katherine Burns
  • Carolina Carrasquillo, above
  • Octavio Chavez
  • Samantha Cogley
  • Candace Collins
  • Katelyn Dacus
  • Kimberly Ehlers
  • Memory Jora
  • Claire Kamenish
  • Valerie Katz
  • Bekah Kilpatrick
  • Carisa Lafleur
  • Reagan Lee
  • Naudia Lewis
  • Onyedikachukwu Obiaju
  • Ariel Sanford
  • Erica Sanmiguel
  • Raven Scott
  • Jiayi Shi
  • Angela Smith
  • Nicole Sutton
  • Sarah Thompson
  • Alexander Warren
  • Charya Williams
  • Shen Xu

This year's judges are Eric Ligon, interim dean of the UNT College of Visual Arts & Design; Stephanie Montes of s.t.e.f.; Michelle Cervantes of Second Kiss Vintage; Kelly Sulak of Fossil; Dessires Zarin of DRZ Design; and Elizabeth Enoch of JC Penney. Emcee for the evening will be Francisco Flores, a UNT alumnus and senior technical designer at The Apparel Group in Frisco. Art Directors for the show will be Robbie Richard and Neil Marek of Marek + Richard. 

Tickets are $25 general admission; $10 for UNT students, faculty and staff, and may be purchased online at Parking is available in the Fouts Field parking lot, which is across the street from the Gateway Center.

—Margarita Venegas, news promotion

Posted on: Tue 05 May 2015

Owning Excellence

Faculty and staff members have roles in transforming UNT into a nationally prominent university. Share your ideas on how you can help UNT to own excellence, keep students on track and improve graduation education.

Mean Green Pride


No current Deadlines